My journey Specials

Severin Green Building

Innovation & Sustainability

You've already noticed for sure that environmental protection and Corporate Social Responsibility is the fundamental aim of Severin Sea Lodge. With that in focus we have built an advanced technology and training center with the project name "Green Building" on our premises. The innovative concept was developed in cooperation with engineers from Kenya and Germany and built by a Kenyan construction company. The integration of renewable energy for hot water generation combined with a powerful water desalination plant and sustainable waste water and solid waste management ensures the efficient and sustainable use of energy, water and waste at Severin Sea Lodge. Additionally, the building comprises an ultra-modern hotel laundry, bright changing and recreation rooms with canteen for our staff and a spacious material store. Underneath please find some more information:

1) Solar heat - our contribution to climate protection

By using renewable energy from the sunlight, 134 high-power solar collectors installed on the hotel's roof are heated. Heat from these solar collectors is transferred via two heat exchanging devices on cold water to heat up water in storage tanks, supplying the entire hotel with adequate hot water. The process can be remotely controlled via internet. Only during extended periods of low sunshine additional heating by electricity is carried out. However, due to long periods of sunshine at the coast, we mainly use solar energy to heat water for hotel use. With this savings of fossil energy, which would otherwise have extremely negative effects on the global climate, we contribute significantly to environmental protection.

More details


2) The water desalination plant of the hotel

For running the hotel Severin Sea Lodge needs - according to occupancy - between 80.000 to 100.000 liters of fresh water daily. But due to an inadequate and dilapidated water reticulation infrastructure, regular supply can't be guaranteed by the public water network. The quality of water supplied by water bowsers cannot be guaranteed as their water source is unknown hence is not an option for water supply. Therefore, we have built our own water desalination plant with a capacity of 15,000 liters per hour within the Green Building. The drinking water that is produced by reverse osmosis and according to WHO standards is pumped into the existing water supply of the hotel. With this investment, we can supply you with clean drinking water at any time and, with the excess water that is produced at the facility, we are also able to provide the local public with potable water.

More details

3) Waste water and waste recycling at the hotel

The hotel-owned biological waste water treatment plant was put into operation at Severin Sea Lodge in 1991 and was the first at the Kenyan coast. Because we knew early that sufficient fresh water resources in Kenya are non-existent, we have put in place this plant to follow our main aim of environmental protection and sustainability. The facility treats all waste water generated from the rooms and public areas. The treated waste water is afterwards reused for watering plants. Water consumption of the hotel is thereby reduced drastically. Additionally, the garbage building adjacent to the Green Building comprises of a solid waste sorting facility for the solid waste generated at the hotel. Solid waste is separated into organic and inorganic waste thus enabling recycling of paper, metal, plastics and glass, resulting in beneficial effects to the ecosystem at the coast.

More details


4) The Craftsmen Training Center

Within the Green Building you will also find five training workshops for craftsmen professions including training classrooms. It aims to teach less of theory and more emphasis is given to imparting manual skills, with an immediate benefit to the local population of Mombasa. Classes and training courses are offered for electricians, plumbers, masons, carpenters and metalworker. As there is a high demand for well trained skilled staff, the graduates won't have any problems finding a job in the region of Mombasa or they may opt to start their own craftsman enterprise.

More details

Meine Reise Angebote

Severin Green Building

Innovation & Nachhaltigkeit

Sicherlich haben Sie schon bemerkt, dass Umweltschutz und Corporate Social Responsibility der Severin Sea Lodge sehr am Herzen liegen. Mit diesem Ziel vor Augen haben wir ein innovatives Technologie- und Trainings-Zentrum mit dem Projektnamen "Green Building" auf dem Hotelgelände in Betrieb genommen. Das anspruchsvolle Konzept wurde in Kooperation mit Ingenieuren aus Kenia und Deutschland entwickelt und von einer kenianischen Baufirma erbaut. Durch die Integration von erneuerbarer Energie zur Warmwassererzeugung kombiniert mit einer leistungsfähigen Wasser Entsalzungsanlage und effektivem Abwasser- und Abfallmanagement sichert diese Investition die effiziente und nachhaltige Verwertung von Energie, Wasser und Abfall in der Severin Sea Lodge. Zusätzlich beinhaltet das Gebäude eine hochmoderne Hotelwäscherei, helle Umkleide- und Aufenthaltsräume mit Kantine für unser Personal und ein großzügiges Materiallager. Wir möchten Ihnen einige ergänzende Informationen zu dem 2.400 qm großen Gebäude geben:

1) Solarthermie - unser Beitrag zum Klimaschutz

Unter Verwendung von erneuerbarer Energie in Form der einfallenden Sonnenstrahlen werden 134 auf dem Hoteldach montierte Hochleistungs-Solarkollektoren erhitzt. Diese produzieren über zwei Wärmetauscher und einen über das Internet regelbaren Speichertank den gesamten Warmwasserbedarf des Hotels. Außer bei sehr schlechtem Wetter, wenn eine elektrische Zusatzheizung notwendig wird, nutzen wir über unsere Solarthermie-Anlage somit ganzjährig 100% solare Energie. Diese CO² Ersparnis ist enorm! Durch die Einsparung von fossilen Energien mit den extrem negativen Auswirkungen auf das Weltklima leisten wir unseren Beitrag zum Klimaschutz.

Weitere Details


2) Die Wasser Entsalzungsanlage des Hotels


Für den Hotelbetrieb ist es notwendig je nach Zimmerbelegung täglich über 80.000 bis 100.000 Liter Frischwasser zu verfügen. Eine regelmäßige Versorgung über das öffentliche Wassernetz kann aufgrund von Trockenheit und veralteter Infrastruktur nicht sichergestellt werden. Auch Wasserlieferungen mittels Tankwagen sind wegen unsauberer Qualität keine Alternative. Deshalb hat das Hotel im Green Building eine eigene Meerwasserentsalzungsanlage mit einer Kapazität von 15.000 Liter pro Stunde in Betrieb genommen. Das mittels Umkehrosmose produzierte Trinkwasser gemäß den WHO Qualitätsstandards wird in die bestehende Kaltwasser-Versorgung des Hotels geleitet. Mit dieser Investition verfügen wir zu jeder Zeit über einwandfreies Trinkwasser und können durch freie Kapazitäten der Anlage Wasser an die lokale Bevölkerung liefern.

Weitere Details

3) Abwasser- und Abfall Recycling im Hotel

Bereits im Jahr 1991 wurde unsere eigene biologische Kläranlage in Betrieb genommen und war somit die erste an der kenianischen Küste. Denn uns war früh klar, dass vor allem in einem wasserarmen Land wie Kenia genau dieser Aspekt des Umweltschutzes einen ganz wichtigen Part für unser Bestreben nach Nachhaltigkeit einnehmen sollte. Die Anlage reinigt das gesamte tägliche Abwasser aus den Zimmern und öffentlichen Bereichen. Das zurückgewonnene Wasser wird für die Bewässerung von Pflanzen benutzt und somit der Wasserverbrauch des Hotels drastisch reduziert. Außerdem ist in dem Green Building eine Müllsortierungsanlage für den gesamten Hotelabfall integriert. Ein Trennsystem in organischen und nichtorganischen Müll ermöglicht Papier, Metall, Plastik und Glas zu recyceln, um das sensible Ökosystem an der Küste schonen.

Weitere Details

4) Das Craftsmen Training Center

Im Green Building befinden sich fünf Lehrwerkstätten für handwerkliche Berufe mit Schulungsräumen. Ziel ist es, weniger theoretisches Wissen und dafür mehr praktische Fähigkeiten zu vermitteln, damit die Jugendlichen aus der Region Mombasa direkt davon profitieren können. Kurse und Trainingseinheiten werden für Elektriker, Klempner, Maurer, Schreiner und Metallbauer angeboten. Da es eine hohe Nachfrage nach gut geschultem Personal gibt, werden Absolventen keine Probleme haben, eine Anstellung an der Küste zu finden oder ihren eigenen kleinen Handwerksbetrieb zu eröffnen.

Weitere Details